Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.internal_encoding is deprecated in /home/customer/www/ on line 28

Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.input_encoding is deprecated in /home/customer/www/ on line 29

Deprecated: iconv_set_encoding(): Use of iconv.output_encoding is deprecated in /home/customer/www/ on line 30
Robert Warrior | | |

Tribal Government Programs


Local Government Programs


Certified Vendor Programs


Robert Warrior

Norm-King.pngRobert Warrior is Director, American Indian Studies, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Professor, American Indian Studies & English, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

As Director of American Indian Studies and the Native American House at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he is a professor of American Indian Studies and English.

He is the author of The People and the Word: Reading Native Nonfiction, American Indian Literary Nationalism (with Craig Womack and Jace Weaver). Like a Hurricane: The Indian Movement from Alcatraz to Wounded Knee (with Paul Chaat Smith) and Tribal Secrets: Recovering American Indian Intellectual Traditions.

He holds degrees from Union Theological Seminary (Ph.D., Systematic Theology), Yale University (M.A., Religion), and Pepperdine University (B.A. summa cum laude, Speech Communication). His academic and journalistic writing has appeared in a wide variety of publications, including American Quarterly, Genre, World Literature Today, News from Indian Country, Lakota Times, Village Voice, UTNE Reader, Guardian, and High Times. He and his coauthors Craig Womack and Jace Weaver were the inaugural recipients of the Beatrice Medicine Award for Scholarly Writing from the Native American Literature Symposium and Warrior has also received awards from the Gustavus Myers Foundation, the Native American Journalists Association, the Church Press Association, and others. Professor Warrior has lectured in a wide variety of places, including Guatemala, Mexico, France, Malaysia, Yale University, Harvard University, the University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Chicago, the University of California-Berkeley, and the University of Miami.